England!   May - June 2014


After talking about it for neigh on 7 years, we actually went on a tour of

England! - May - June 2014
        . . . Yes. Right. Well now, that's about it, isn't it? Not much more to say

We had a grand tour, visited sides in the West Midlands, some of the "origin" areas of Border Morris, the style we dance. Why? To visit with similarly afflicted folk, test the scrumpy, other cider & ale, see the Iron Bridge and so on, and dance. Several articles or pieces were written by our gracious hosts, or those who may have been amazed a group from Canada was over. Have a look through the links, search on-line or send in what you know for posting

This is a work in progress, so please contribute, or consider doing that. If only the latter  then please follow up by making rude comments about why it's not "done yet" and not offer your scribe a pint, or a link to something. And text. And photos. And . . . come on

Our raw, pre-tour schedule:

Saturday 24 May 2014

•    Leyland - Stone the Crows, http://stonethecrows.org.uk/

•    Dance outs, social evening, dance swap, sing around

Sunday 25 May 2014

•    Late morning dancing by a local castle, pub lunch and then more dancing. Probably dancing with another team each day

Monday 26 May 2014

•    To Leominster, Leominster Morris, http://www.leominstermorris.org/
•    Meet at Eardisland Village Hall

Tuesday 27 May 2014

•    Dancing in Hay-on-Wye town centre,

Wednesday 28 May 2014

•    Mini tour of Pembridge and Leominster dancing outside pubs

Thurs May 29 May 2014

•    Pear Tree Inn, Worcester

Friday May 30 May 2014

•    Travel to Lichfield, Ryknild Rabble  http://www.ryknildrabble.co.uk/

Sat, Sunday 1 June 2014

•    Lichfield

Monday June 2 June 2014

•    Lichfield – maybe Prestige Inn

Tuesday June 3 June 2014

•    Travel to Kidderminster, Wytchwood Morris, http://www.wytchwoodmorris.co.uk/

Wed, Thursday

•    Kidderminster

Friday 6 June 2014

•    Tour end - some "Bogged Off" home, others went wandering, walking the Cotswolds, some to Enysham, Wales, Oxford . . .